What is Your Love Language?

The 5 Love Languages

What makes you feel loved?  Is it a note left on the bathroom mirror?  A kiss goodbye?  We are enthusiastic believers of Dr. Gary Chapman’s theory that we all have a primary love language… the way we feel most loved.  The 5 Love Languages are Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch.  This concept gave us an “ah ha” moment when we realized different things made us feel like we were loved and appreciated.  If Physical Touch is your partner’s love language, it won’t matter how many times you send flowers… your partner won’t feel loved.  Sending flowers is fantastic for the person whose love language is Receiving Gifts, but a foot massage will work magic for the person who craves Physical Touch.  Early in our relationship we devoured Dr. Chapman’s book and took his quiz… it created terrific results because we were able to find ways to show love to each other in ways that the other person received it.  Dr. Chapman says, “Many husbands and wives who had spent years struggling through marriages they thought were loveless discovered one or both spouses had long been showing love through messages that weren’t getting through. By recognizing their different love languages, they witnessed the rebirth of the love they thought had been gone for good.”  Luckily for us, we have the same love language: Physical Touch… our challenge is finding a way to make that work between our busy career, family time and volunteer efforts… but that’s the topic of another blog.  🙂  So, here’s the 5 Love Languages quiz… what’s yours?  Better yet… what’s your partner’s?

With Love,
Gene & Julie
Founders, Working Couple Network

© Gene & Julie Gates and Working Couple Network, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Gene & Julie Gates and Working Couple Network with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


2 thoughts on “What is Your Love Language?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s